Non-Profit Internet Source for News, Events, History, & Culture of Northern Frederick & Carroll County Md./Southern Adams County Pa.


Woodsboro elects two new Commissioners

Jermey Hauck
The Gazette

(5/17) Woodsboro residents on Saturday voted Joel Rensberger and David Eaves onto the four-member board of commissioners, replacing Commissioners Gary Smith, who resigned, and Ken Morgan.

Out of 648 registered voters living in Woodsboro, 94 cast ballots, according to town secretary Mary Rice.

Rensberger earned 74 votes and Eaves took 53. Morgan failed to win a fourth term on the board, earning only 37 votes. The Board of Commissioners now includes only one member who has been in office since before December.

Commissioner Dennis Kline resigned on Dec. 31 when he moved to West Virginia, and Smith announced his intention not to run for re-election in April, to ‘‘take a step back for a couple years."

A commissioner’s term is four years; the salary is $2,250 per year. Commissioners meet on the second Tuesday of each month.

Read other news articles on Woodsboro